top of page
Buscar
  • Foto del escritorCarolina Rodríguez

PERSONAL RECREATION

Actualizado: 21 abr 2019

As I have gradually introduced myself in the Circus Society to conduct a research, some new interests and activities have inevitably called my attention. I had previously seen a mesmerizing type of activity in social media, which I would later find to be performing with veil fans. I adopted this practice as my own inside the society and practiced it along the places I travelled during my stay in the UK.


This was the first time I had taken my set of silk fan veils with me out on a trip to Snowdonia, Wales. I was not sure of the movements or how the fans had to be exactly manipulated. But with the scenery behind me behind my main source of inspiration, I decided to let go of myself and flow with the wind (which was a little too strong!)


The fans were bought from a provider based on the Etsy website. They are 100% Silk Fan Veils for Belly Dance or other activities. They can vary through a wide range of length going from 150 cm to 200 cm, but mine are in between measuring 180cm long. They come in a set of 2 pieces of left and right handed bamboo. The edges are also hemmed for added quality and to help makes its manipulation easier.



As in this video, some of you might appreciate how the length of the veil fans is not advantageous in this case. The strong wind can send the fans flying in one direction constantly, allowing for very limited movements that do not make the fans entangle. I definitely found it to be a more skillful activity to master than it appears.

39 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas Recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page